Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Starlin Castro- The All Star

For the last three years the Cubs have sent just one player, which is the minimum possible, to the All Star Game. Prior to that, eighth Cubs participated in the Mid-Summer Classic in 2008.

On Sunday, Starlin Castro was named to the National League squad as a reserve. Castro is the youngest Cub to ever be named an All-Star. Darwin Barney and Alfonso Soriano were the other two Cubs with an outside chance of making the team, but neither ended up on the roster. With the game in Arizona a week away, it's time to take a look back at the Cubs stars year by year.

2010- Marlon Byrd
2009- Ted Lilly
2008- Kerry Wood, Aramis Ramirez, Carlos Marmol, Alfonso Soriano, Kosuke Fukudome, Geovany Soto, Ryan Dempster and Carlos Zambrano
2007- Derrek Lee and Alfonso Soriano
2006- Carlos Zambrano
2005- Derrek Lee and Aramis Ramirez
2004- Sammy Sosa, Carlos Zambrano and Moises Alou
2003- Mark Prior and Kerry Wood
2002- Sammy Sosa
2001- Jon Lieber and Sammy Sosa

The home run derby will take place next Monday. Jose Bautista, Robinson Cano, Prince Fielder, Adrian Gonazlez and David Ortiz are all confirmed participants. Three more contestants will be added to the field. I'll post a history of Cubs in the event sometime before the derby.

That's it for now, but I'll keep you posted!

No comments:

Post a Comment